Istanbul 2K15: But First, Italy

All packed and ready to go!
All packed and ready to go!

It’s already here? It seems like it was just yesterday when I found out that I would be spending my summer doing what I love. Time has flown by, and a long-awaited experience has finally arrived.

For someone who will be travelling by herself for a month for the very first time, I seem to be surprisingly calm, probably because it doesn’t feel real, but it is. My large suitcase, carry-on bag and backpack are all set and ready to go. My parents are kind of freaking out, but also very excited about sending their baby girl off by herself for such a long time, but I think this will be a learning experience for both me and them. I think we’ve prepared each other pretty well.

So what will I be doing in this summer? I am taking part in the IeiMedia Multimedia Exchange Abroad, a program that invites students from across the world to learn what it takes to be an international journalist from faculty members who are working journalists. The multimedia programs takes place in various countries including France and Spain. The one I am going on begins with four days in Venice, Italy, where we will be seeing the historical sites in Venice, and learning about its relations with Turkey. My final stop will is Istanbul, Turkey, where I will be spending the remainder of my time.

I can’t even take in how amazing this experience will be (in’sha’Allah). Seeing how another country embraces Ramadan, the month of fasting for Muslims, seeing how East meets West in a country that shares both European and Asian culture, trying all kinds of delicious Italian and Turkish dishes; it’s going to be great.

My first stop is Venice, Italy. While I am a little nervous about travelling by myself for the very first time, I think it’s going to be a learning experience that I will cherish forever. As someone who loves to explore, meet new people, and try new things, I certainly am and will be grateful for every moment that is to come.

Eeek, my flight’s at 5 p.m. Excited? Heck yeah!

I will be updating my blog regularly, so stay tuned for more!

One thought on “Istanbul 2K15: But First, Italy”

Leave a Reply

